And so it begins……

We have to go back to October last year, when I guess I should really have started blogging, but hey – better late than never!

For what I can hear you ask (or not as the case may be)? Well, I had an idea. In the bath. For a book.

Now, I don’t often have ideas in the bath, and wasn’t quite sure what to do with this one. Never having written before I shook my head, filed the idea in the place in my brain marked ‘Junk I really should forget’ and carried on. Next night, same thing. Problem this time is that I could actually hear the heroine of the book in my head. I’d just like to add at this point that I have absolutely no history of mental illness, but clearly my mind was trying to tell me something.

I’ve never written a book (obviously), in fact aside from reports for work I don’t do that much writing at all. The idea of writing a whole book seemed, well – daunting and to be honest I didn’t actually expect to get very far. When I finally picked up the laptop and started to write I figured I’d get perhaps 30 pages in and run out of ideas, but I tried it anyway. Just to see.

And 350 pages later I had a finished book. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t smooth sailing, the first 30 pages we’re read by my wife and she gave me some interesting pointers (and one of them wasn’t ‘don’t give up your day job’) and that caused me to have a rethink about my whole writing style. Don’t get me wrong the input was critical and it was important that she was honest with me, but at that point I could have gone one of two ways – either just say ‘yeah, you’re right, stupid idea’ or go back to the drawing board, revise it and see what comes out of the other end.

Well, it turns out that the book was a bit bigger than I anticipated and the second volume (of three) is nearly complete and runs to 417 pages. If someone had said to me last year that I’d write two books totalling 200K words and nearly 800 pages I’d have said you were mad. I’m not even sure how it happened to be honest, it kind of just flows. I know the whole story arc, how its going to end and what happens to each character.

I’ve probably broken pretty much every rule of writing when I sat down and wrote these, but at the end of the day I kind of do it for my enjoyment, and as my wife says, if nothing else the kids will read them and they’ll enjoy them just because I wrote them and she’s probably right.

In the rest of this blog I’ll post updates about how things are going with the other books, and my attempts at getting them published. There will likely be a few posts over the next couple of days about stuff that’s gone on over the past few months.

2 comments on “And so it begins……

  1. Hi, I just came across your blog. – Welcome to the blogosphere. 🙂
    I liked reading this post. Stories of inspiration hitting like that are always uplifting. (And don’t worry; I’m told it’s perfectly normal to “hear” your protagonists. :))

Leave a Reply

