Rewrites!

Has it really been 10 days since my last post?  Well, yes, I know that since I can see the date on each one but the last 10 days just seem to have flown.  Works been crazy at the moment and due to a couple of other distractions, football tournaments, ballet show prep and other stuff I’ve not had a lot of chance to write anything for a while, novel or otherwise.

A couple of marginally annoying things happened over the course of the last week.  Firstly I landed myself in it at work, thankfully with someone I trust not to spill the beans.  You know how it goes, innocent conversation turns to evening plans and caught off guard (while concentrating on a particularly irritating user problem) I replied ‘I might do some writing’.  Quizzical expression and one leap of faith later and the wide-eyed expression and statement of ‘You write?  Like books?’.  I guess the sunk expression on my face confirmed it.

The second thing was that I happened to open the wrong book (the first one) and read the first few paragraphs while I was there.  Hmmmm, more work needed.  It doesn’t matter how many times you rewrite something you can always guarantee you’ll come back to it later and think it’s pants.

So, having finally got some time to write I now find myself rewriting the first chapter (well, prologue to be more accurate).  Still it can only get better!

 

Leave a Reply

