What if your book characters could interview you?

Yeah, slightly off the peg I know, but when I was driving home from Leeds I was being badgered by the lead character, Sam.  Never one to refuse an opportunity for (a) ridicule and (b) expanding my horizons I decided to try a little experiment.  So here we have the interview that played out in my head…… 🙂

Sam Johnson : Thanks for taking time out to answer my questions
W. Chaser  : No problem.  No holds barred policy here.  I can’t guarantee to answer every question, but I’ll try.

So, tell me.  When did this all start.  Did you always want to be a writer?
No, it wasn’t until you wouldn’t stop bugging me at bathtime that I sat down and started to write.  So it’s all your fault.

I can’t take all the credit, I just whispered in your ear.  Anyway, were you ever aware of living with my story in your head?
Not at all, to be honest my head is usually full of so much other stuff I’m surprised you managed to stay in there.  But I’m glad you did, it’s given me an interesting hobby to follow and I quite enjoy writing down your adventures.

Turning to the books then, do you have a god complex?  What gives you the right to decide who lives and who dies, who’s happy and who’s miserable?
Well, I wouldn’t call it a god complex as such, but yes, I’ve crafted the world you live in and the events that happen within it.  I try to be fair to the characters I’ve created, they are and always will be special to me.  There is a certain sense of satisfaction though knowing that with the stroke of a pen I can change the fate of a character for better or worse.

Stroke of a pen?  You write on a laptop?
It was a metaphorical statement.

Do you find it difficult killing characters off?
Well, that depends on what sort of relationship I’ve had with them.  Some of them are pretty much introduced as ‘canon fodder’ while others may have been around a lot longer and it’s difficult to say goodbye to them.  It doesn’t matter whether they’re good or bad, it’s still a difficult decision to make and yes, in a way I do mourn for them.

Have you ever given a character a reprieve?
Yes.  Only one though and that was because my plans for that character changed.  I’m not going to name the character in case anyone reading hasn’t read the books and intends to.  I think it’s fair to say though that the events that happen to that character over books two and three probably make them wish I’d done away with them in book one.

You seem hell bent on making my life miserable in one way or another.  Any particular reason?
Sometimes you have to know the bad times to appreciate the good ones.  I’m not saying any more than that.

So I have a happy ending then?
I’m not saying that either.  Everything is subjective, one persons happy ending is another’s hell.

That’s not very helpful.  Do you have it all planned out, the ending I mean?
Yes, and the last chapter is written.  It ends with ‘It had to be.  Didn’t it?’

Very cryptic.  Am I in it?
Come on, you know I can’t tell you that.  Nothing good ever comes of knowing the future.

So I have to rely on the fact that you’ll do right by me.  Is that fair?  Is that fair to any of your characters?
No, probably not.  But then without me you wouldn’t exist anyway and we wouldn’t be having this weird metaphysical conversation.  Would you prefer not to exist at all?

How will you feel when you’ve finished the final book?  Will you miss us?
I can’t say at the moment because I don’t know how I’ll feel at the time.  It could be I finish the book with a sense of relief, not to mention pride, that I’ll have written over 1000 pages of novel.  In some ways I will probably miss you, but it’s not like you’ll ever cease to exist.  You will alway be there, in my mind and in eprint.

Can you ever see there being more books in this series?
At the moment I don’t think so.  Once the trilogy is complete I think this story will be told.  But never say never, as with most things there’s always an open left somewhere.

Is that a hint?
No comment.

Hmmmm, okay.  Well, last question.  Is there anything you’d like to say to everyone reading this?
Yes.  Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog and reading the posts.  The comments made by people are always insightful and while we may not always agree on everything that’s said on this and other blogs it’s that difference of opinion that sometimes sends us in new directions.  It’s the visitors that keep me writing this blog even when I occasionally have large gaps between posts.

Well, thanks for taking the time to answer my questions.  Good luck with book three.
No problem, and good luck to you too

Is that some sort of hint?  Do I need luck? 
I’m not going there again.  Cheers Sam.

I can only conclude that my mind works in very strange ways 🙂

7 comments on “What if your book characters could interview you?

Leave a Reply

