Does Cover Art Make Much Difference (Part Two)

A couple of weeks ago I posted about cover art and whether it makes much difference (here).  So after changing the cover art and putting the book up for free I can finally reveal the answer to the question.

If you can’t be bothered to read the rest of the post then the answer is no.   If you’re bored, a masochist or just plain curious about what this slightly weird blogger/writer is going on about and his undoubtedly wrong conclusions are then read on.

So, back to the wiffle/piffle/dribble.  As you know I redesigned the book cover, and I liked the new version.  I thought it conveyed what the book was pretty much about (light v dark, or ‘a bit like Star Wars’ as someone called it the other day.  Seriously, this sort of thing was going on waaaaaaaay before Star Wars, they didn’t invent light v dark battles) and I thought it looked quite striking.

Not that I didn’t like the first cover, I did and NASA take some cool photos.  Admittedly their camera cost over $2.5bn compared to my £400 Sony DSLR and one is very much more portable, but even so…..

Anyway, back on track.  So sales (or giveaways as it were) over that weekend were about on par with the ones I did a while ago, so it didn’t make any difference.  I can’t of course say that for an absolute fact but it appears not anyway.

Doing a bit of research though it seems most people are split on whether it makes any difference anyway, is it down to price, blurb, cover, day of the week it would appear everyone who has an opinion has a different one.  What I’d really like to be able to do is see how many click-throughs I got though from the various links on websites that promote free books (ereaderIQ, kindlenationdaily etc) or on Amazon itself to the book pages, but there doesn’t seem to be a way to do that.   For all I know I got 10,000 hits but only a fraction of those acquired it in which case it’s down to the blurb.

If anyone does know a method of collecting that data though I’d hail them as a genius on this very page, named under a big flashing sign that says ‘Genius’.

Reviews is the other interesting issue.  A lot of the promotional sites won’t touch a freebie unless it has a minimum of 4 reviews and an average of 4 stars, but you’re relying on people being bothered to put on a review and I don’t believe many people do.  How many people actually use reviews as a basis for their decision (working on the fact that people may be interested if it’s 3 or more)?  Of course being a best-selling author you can get away with low reviews because people will always buy your book anyway.

As always, I don’t have an answer, but if I ever come up with one you’ll be the first to know.

4 comments on “Does Cover Art Make Much Difference (Part Two)

Leave a Reply

