W.Who?

Yes, I know.  I really do.  I’ve been away for what seems like an eternity.  But I’ve got a good excuse!

Actually, no I haven’t.  It’s unforgivable.  I feel like I’ve neglected my blog and that makes me sad.  And I’ll try not to do it again.  I’ve been taking a break from writing while I get the story completely straight in my head (or at least firmly crooked to quote Douglas Adams).  Not to mention the other things that have been going on such as work (and when doesn’t that get in the way), holidays (the next blog post), work and well, now Christmas.

So, for those of you who read religiously (are there any of you left?) here’s the current state of play……

My last post was in August, post Olympic blues had set in and I was struggling with book 3.  Well, the post Olympic blues have gone, but the other problem kept rearing its ugly head.  Something still wasn’t right and as I read and re-read the first 5 chapters trying desperately to understand what it was I’d just keep putting it to one side.  It’s November now and I’ve concluded that the only sane option is that if I can’t figure out what the hells wrong with it by now then the whole thing has to go.

Lock, stock and 5 smoking chapters.  Well, maybe 3, I still really like the first two, but no matter how hard I try I just can’t like the others.  So they’re toast.

Not literally you understand, I haven’t put them in a toaster and tried to butter them for several reasons but chiefly among these are the following

  • It’s a fire hazard
  • My wife would likely be upset at the mess
  • It’s not the sort of thing you want to teach your kids
  • It’s the sort of thing you get put in a nice rubber cell for, especially if you accompany the toasting with maniacal laughter

So on that basis we’ll just treat it as virtual toast.  It’s taken a long time to reach that decision and in that time I’ve done no writing at all.  I had intended to do some on the plane when we went on holiday but at that point I was still struggling and the little map of where the plane was on the 8 hour flight was just so much more attractive in a paint drying kind of way.

However, I digress.  Again.

So having metaphorically toasted the rest of the book how do I feel sitting in the comfort of the bath (again, apologies for the obviously disturbing visions this may bring on)?  Well, kind of liberated actually.  I feel like the wall that I’ve been banging my head against has disappeared now.  The third book is once again an open plain where I’m free to roam rather than being restricted by the actions of the characters in those toasty chapters.  Will it help?  Who knows, but it can’t hurt (and despite the rhetoric I do still have those chapters filed away on a dark hard drive folder which I might, just for the hell of it, call ‘Heated Bread Products’.  Hey, why not) and it certainly can’t make me write any less than I have been doing.

I now need to get back to the discipline of writing every day.  I used to do some at lunchtime, but at the moment I’m not really getting one of those that’s (a) long enough and (b) uninterrupted so that might be out, so I need to go back to basics, to the place I started writing.  To the place it all started.

The bath.

And that’s where I’m writing this, getting back into the flow.  I’ve fallen off the bike and I’m getting back on.  I am going to finish this book, and I’m going to make it a fitting conclusion to the first two.  I’m going to get back the fire that I had when I first started, the passion for the characters and the story, that’s what drove me on before and it will again.  While I’m sure it won’t happen overnight (or in one bath) I’m determined.

If only so that the people who’ve read the first two books (hello Liz et al) get to find out what happens in the end.

Now, before I get back to the book I just have a few things to do.  Like bath the dogs.  And if I don’t watch that paint it might not dry properly…….  just kidding 🙂

 

3 comments on “W.Who?

Leave a Reply

